BIFM seeks pioneering facilities management for 2018 industry Awards

BIFM seeks pioneering facilities management for 2018 industry Awards

30-01-18 1:30 BIFM

BIFM has today opened entries for the industry-leading British Institute of Facilities Management (BIFM) Awards 2018. Contenders are sought across 13 categories from individuals, companies and initiatives that can demonstrate excellence across three core themes: ‘people’, ‘innovation’ and ‘impact’.

This year’s Awards focus on professional development as a key to industry advancement with two new categories: ‘Innovation in Professional Development – Small Organisations, and Innovation in Professional Development – Large Organisations. These categories have been introduced to highlight the value that forward-looking organisations and teams (large and small) bring to the FM industry by identifying and growing skills and talent in FM.

The 'People' categories continue to highlight the newcomers, teams, leaders, managers and veterans whose outstanding contributions are paramount to industry success. The ‘Impact’ group of categories will continue to focus on the added worth of FM and its wider value.

Speaking on the launch of the 2018 BIFM Awards, chair of judges and director of Nodus Solutions Ltd, Steve Gladwin said:

“As the industry-leading Awards, the BIFM Facilities Management Awards seek out and spotlight excellence and inspiration across our wide-ranging industry. Our Awards are the primary platform to showcase the strategic value of FM to organisational productivity and success.

Each year the BIFM Awards grows in stature. Entries and nominations are received from a wide variety of organisations across the economy, both in the UK and internationally.

Focussed on industry-advancing performance, innovation and creativity, the independent judges are looking for the teams, individuals and projects which represent the gold standard for FM. The team of judges works together to ensure that the categories are reflective of industry need.

The categories for 2018 have again been adapted to align to the operating environment of today’s FMs. Underlining the importance of professional development to industry advancement, the judges have this year chosen to reward Innovation in Professional Development, spotlighting operations – large and small – whose novel approach to growing skills and talent in FM has made a real difference.

I am sure that every category for 2018 will attract a wide-ranging interest from outstanding teams, projects and organisations wanting to share – and celebrate – their achievements for their businesses and clients.

On behalf of the judges I’m eagerly anticipating an extensive range of entries across our thirteen categories. We wish them luck.”

The full list of categories for 2018 comprises:


> Newcomer of the Year*
> Manager of the Year*
> Leader of the Year*
> Team of the Year

*Open to direct entries or nominations


> Innovation in Professional Development for Small Organisations
> Innovation in Professional Development for Large Organisations
> Innovation in Technology and Systems
> Innovation in Products and Services


> Impact on Customer Experience
> Impact on Employee Experience
> Impact on the Environment
> Impact on Organisational Performance
> Impact on Society

The BIFM Awards are open to all across the FM profession in all economic sectors. International entries are also welcome across all 13 categories. Entries and nominations must be received by 20 April 2018 .

Finalists are expected to be announced in July and winners will be revealed at the BIFM Awards ceremony taking place on 15 October 2018.

Full details, including all category criteria, are available here. @BIFMAwards and #BIFMAwards also carries the latest news.

Related topics