Volunteers recognised for advancing the FM profession

05-07-18 13:45 BIFM

On 5 July 2018, BIFM celebrated outstanding contributions from its professional volunteers at the Volunteer Recognition Awards 2018.

These annual awards recognise the achievements of the BIFM volunteers who support the facilities management community and help shape the Institute and the profession.

The 2018 Volunteer Recognition Awards winners were:

Special Interest Group of the Year: Women in FM
The winner for ‘Special Interest Group Committee of the Year’ are a group that demonstrated excellent collaboration with other committees to deliver key activities, reaching out to evidence a full remit of events over the last 12 months. Earlier this year, the organisation of a conference that extended beyond FM was both challenging and thought-provoking and they certainly pride themselves on being an inclusive and supportive environment for members. I am pleased to announce the winner is…

Regional committee of the Year: North Region
The winner of ‘Regional Committee of the Year 2018’ was a high-quality submission and a deserving winner – this committee continually gain fantastic feedback on events, have great engagement with members and are actively supporting the BIFM corporate agenda. The success of this committee was evident to see, with fantastic feedback from members and an ambition to make a positive impact on the Institute and profession. I am pleased to announce the winner is….

Knowledge Contribution of the Year: BIFM Technology Working Group
The winner for ‘Volunteer Knowledge Contribution’ are focused on developing and sharing key pieces of information that are digestible for all FMs through the development of guidance documents, Good Practice Guides and webinars – all of these were important knowledge documents to support and help the subject matter become more understandable. The group have worked hard to develop a number of knowledge pieces on BIM to reach out to members and beyond, with a research piece on BIM also winning Research Paper of the Year Award at EFMC 2018. I am pleased to announce the winner is…

Volunteer of the Year: Joanna Lloyd-Davies
The winner for ‘Volunteer of the Year’ is an individual that has continually demonstrated her commitment and passion to the wider FM profession and has a desire to push the boundaries to reach the right result. Her dedication to many voluntary roles within BIFM were clearly demonstrated in the submission, as was her drive and passion to continually promote the industry; this was evidenced in the wonderful testaments from those that work closely with her. This individual was described as ‘more than a volunteer – a true friend of FM’. I am pleased to announce the winner is…

The Awards were presented at the BIFM Annual General Meeting in Manchester.

BIFM Chairman Stephen Roots said:

"I’d like to extend my warmest congratulations to all of today’s winners.

“BIFM is fortunate to have a committed cadre of volunteers who give so much of their own time to support, develop and promote the FM profession; and the Volunteer Recognition Awards are a moment to acknowledge and celebrate the very real impact they have across a broad range of the Institute’s activity.

As today’s winners show, the expertise, energy and advocacy they bring helps raise the profession and the industry more widely.”

Read more about the 2018 Volunteer Recognition Awards here

Related topics