FM Functional Areas

The FM functional areas are the key functions performed by facilities management practitioners, as set out in the FM Professional Standards. Every key function includes functional area components and specific competences required for professionals to follow at every career level.

FM Functional Areas

The key functional areas have been outlined for each career level, from support to strategic.

There are 10 functional areas within the framework:

> The Role of Facilities Management

> Strategy and Policy Development

> Leadership and Management

> Business Continuity and Compliance

> Business Support Services Management

> Property Portfolio Management

> Quality Management and Customer Service

> Finance and IT

> Procurement and Contract Management

> Sustainability

FM Functional Area Components

Each of the functional areas is broken down into “functional area components”. The key components that form part of a particular function.


Under every functional area component there is a high-level statement of competence. These detail the expected level of competence for the following career levels:

  • Strategic
  • Senior
  • Manager
  • Supervisory
  • Support

Return to the FM Professional Standards Framework >